Pizza!!

wp-1483855197220.jpg

I haven’t eaten pizza in so long but a few nights ago I decided that it was time. I pulled out my new Comfort food cook book and started making the dough.

It was simple enough, the recipe for the dough is here.

You can see the difference between the size of the dough between me finishing kneeding it and after proofing! 

After beating the dough down roll it out and cut it into segments, like above. Then roll them into pretty little balls and leave to proof. They don’t need long, 30mins. 

Or before letting them proof you can wrap it up in plastic wrap like below and pop it in your freezer! Its great because it defrosts in a couple of hours. I use it for pizza and for other flat breads that I might want to quickly whip up for tea 🙂

As for toppings, I kept mine simple, a bit of grated cheese, homemade pizza sauce, basil, and a couple of pieces of ham and salami.

The sauce was pretty cool to make, I’ve never made the sauce before.
I used Jamies recipe:

  • 1 clove of garlic
  • 1 bunch of fresh basil
  • olive oil
  • 1 x 400 g tin of quality plum tomatoes

  1. For the sauce, peel and finely slice the garlic. Pick the basil leaves and discard the stalks.
  2. Heat a saucepan on a medium-low heat and add a splash of olive oil and the garlic. Cook gently until the garlic starts to turn golden, then add most of the basil leaves, the tomatoes, and a good pinch of salt and pepper.
  3. Cook gently for around 20 minutes, or until smooth, mashing the tomatoes up with a wooden spoon as it cooks. When done, have a little taste, and season again if needed.”

 

I cooked the pizza in the oven and for the first time I cooked it at 250 deg, as this was the recommended heat. It was delish this way, would recommend. I heated up the tray first as well as that gave the base a crispy base! It only needed about 10mins in the oven. 

Leave a Reply

